Signs

I was driving along the other day and I noticed this sign —

Grief Support Group – Mondays 6 – 7 pm“.

Anyone familiar with the On the Gay Horizon website or newsletter knows that I lost my partner almost two years ago and it has been the most difficult thing I have ever had to deal with. So, that sign caught my eye.

My first thought, accompanied by the tiniest jolt of hopeful anticipation, was “maybe that could help”. But it was immediately followed by — well, you know what came next. “They don’t mean me.”

Oh sure, they might let me join the group. Or, I could make a big deal out of it and push my way in. Like we do a lot of places. But do I really want to do that with a support group? And, even if I got in, what are the odds that anyone there would “get it” that my grief is no different from theirs?

So, I just kept on driving.

But, from long ago, came the words to a song I didn’t even know I remembered…

…and the sign said, “You’ve got to have a membership card to get inside.”

…signs, signs, everywhere a sign, blockin’ out the scenery, breakin’ my mind, do this, don’t do that. Can’t you read the signs?

…and the sign said, “Everybody welcome. Come in, kneel down and pray” .  And when they passed around the plate at the end of it all, I didn’t have a penny to pay. So I got me a pen and paper and I made up my own little sign. I said, “Thank you Lord for thinkin’ bout me. I’m alive and doin’ fine”.

2 responses to “Signs

  1. First, you know how sorry I am for your loss, my friend.

    Second, maybe you could offer an online forum for grief support targeted to your GLBT audience until such time as the rest of the world opens its arms?

    And finally, you left out my favorite part of that song:

    “And the sign said long-haired, freaky people need not apply. So I tucked up my hair up under my hat…and I went in to ask him “Why?”

    He said “You look like a fine, up-standing young man, I think you do.”

    So I took off my hat and said “Imagine that! Huh! Me, working for you…”

    Oh, and by the way, thanks for getting that song stuck in my head, bud. So how ’bout I drive you crazy: Do you remember who sang that song?

  2. Thanks, Tracey. And it was the Five Man Electric Band. No, I didn’t remember, but my friend Google fills in those gaps for me more and more these days. While I was searching for it I found this video that you might want to check out — just don’t blame me if you spend another day with that song rattling around in your head!

    I think my favorite is the one that says something like “those who throw objects at the crocodiles will be asked to retrieve them”….

Leave a Reply

